These testimonials have been collected from Google, Facebook, and survey submissions by former parents and students of Turn-About Ranch. If you would like to share your experience to help parents with struggling teens learn more about our therapeutic program, please leave a testimonial online.

Leave a Review on Google Leave a Review on Facebook


Testimonials from Parents


My son was struggling and TAR helped him and gave him life skills. He is home now and doing amazing! Not to say there are always bumps in the road, but this facility is one that works.

- Sandra Baker, August 2021

I highly recommend TAR. Their people and approach really do work. Trust the people and the process. My son had been to two quality programs consecutively before TAR. Before starting these programs, he was depressed, suicidal at times, and had oppositional defiant disorder. After 8 months of these programs, there was some progress but he was nowhere near ready to come home. At the other programs, he was resistant to buy in, resistant to change though ‘wilderness’ had more beneficial aspects than ‘residential.’ At TAR, doing real work, solving real problems daily was the game-changer. He wasn’t repeating a chemistry lab that had been done thousands of times with the expectation he must get the same answer as everyone always has. It was more, “we have to fix this fence” – experience helps, but so do creativity and hard work. And with a wide variety of teaching/coaching styles of staff, he came to appreciate the variability of people working for common goals in different ways. They addressed issues, such as non-productive or harmful interactions with peers or staff as they came up. The issues were real. And, they were addressed real time, not “wait until therapy at 3:30 on Thursday.” He grew and learned from these direct interactions and the lessons within them. The advice was consistent and persistent. The staff and therapists would prod my son to explore and explain his point of view and actions, while providing simple, basic guidance on better verbal, physical or thinking approaches. TAR provided time and reason for reflection and, over time, it had positive, beneficial impacts on my son. My son has learned how to express his feelings more frequently. He listens more carefully and expects to be listened to. He has come to understand the benefits and value of hard work. He is respectful. He understands himself better and has become engaged in setting goals for himself. My son had been on a negative trajectory for 2-3 years before beginning wilderness. Wilderness and residential therapy helped to stop the negative trajectory. TAR turned it into a positive trajectory. We have a long way to go. But we have more positives and more potential to move forward on a positive trajectory than we have had in many years. I believe TAR is responsible for the change in trajectory and I am very thankful and grateful that we were finally able to get him to this program. I did not think it was possible for him to come back home in 100 days. I was researching boarding schools as the likely best next future step. Instead, he is back home and we are all moving forward, not stuck in a rut or on a negative trajectory. He has a positive self-image, we are talking through issues and challenges, he is taking more initiative and responsibility than we have seen in years. He will re-start at our local high school in a few weeks. I firmly believe none of his would have happened without TAR.

- Robi Robichaud, August 2021

We sent our son to Turn-About and I can’t say enough good things about this program. The first time I spoke with them (it took us over a year to pull the trigger) they actually gave me some things that they thought I could do at home to possibly work through our issues and not have to use the program! I was immediately impressed that they were concerned with my son and not just selling an enrollment. My son learned so much there and loved all of the staff members. They put their hearts and souls in to helping the kids that are there. My son got caught up on all the school work he was failing at, matured unbelievably, learned valuable skills like horsemanship, welding, etc. He came home a whole different person. They also did a great job at coaching me and my ex wife on changes that we needed to make in ourselves / our parenting styles. And they gave us a ton of resources to make sure we keep the momentum and have a smooth transition back to home life. Again, I just can’t say enough about this program. It was life changing for everyone of my family members that were involved (me, my ex wife, my son, and my daughters).

- Anthony Detrick, July 2021

This place has made all the difference, and saved our 16 year old daughter’s life. Previous counseling, hospitalization, and medications did not work, and we were about to give up on her. She’s come out of this program strong, honest, and positive with herself, and future. The people employed at the ranch are caring, genuine, and simply put, one of a kind. Thank you, for giving us our daughter back.

- P. Bell, July 2021

My 14 year old daughter graduated from Turn About Ranch about 2 months ago and is the best she has ever been. After 3 previous hospitalizations and years of working with different (highly qualified & experienced) therapists, the light bulb finally went off after a 120 day program at the ranch. She was transferred here after being sent to another program where she was discharged due to repeated problems and restraints. I probably never would’ve chosen this program knowing that she would be forced to live in a nearly wilderness type environment, and also that we would only be able to communicate by letters for the duration of her program… additionally, I wanted a program that spoke therapy, therapy, therapy and wouldn’t have thought a working cattle ranch would be the place for that, but I am beyond grateful that her journey led her to the people who are so gracious, patient, and brutally honest. (Also, insurance considered this a higher level of therapeutic care than the other program and therefore paid more). They were non-confrontational and gained her interest and trust by providing tools she needed. This is where the most effective therapy took place for her… where she learned to turn suggested tools/ideas/concepts into action and have her eyes opened to new better ways of shaping her perspective, relationships, communication, and living life by higher morals and values. We’ve had a few ups and downs since she’s been home, (mostly with moods and challenging rules, nothing major) but with the pre-discharge plans set in family therapy, continued therapy with a local counselor here at home and supportive community she is getting even stronger/independent and steering her ship on the trajectory she was able to establish in her time at TAR. I highly recommend them for a multitude of reasons… so from a mom who has seen other programs who try hard but miss the mark… this one does it right! And if all this wasn’t enough, my daughter loves them, misses them and wants to visit on her one year anniversary… but she doesn’t want to return as a resident either… it’s really brilliant!

- AJ Trainer, July 2021

“In a time of turmoil with our child and researching a facility, hands down we couldn’t have found a better place. A big part of our decision was made by talking to past parents.”

- Hopeful in Nebraska, May 2021

“TAR was wonderful for helping my daughter. Staff is great to the kids and she is getting the help she needs. While visiting at mid term I was very pleased with ranch staff was so great. And my daughter was so excited to show us around and meet everyone that works there. I got nothing but positive feedback from my daughter. Thank you turnabout ranch.”

- Rene Stepanian

“Absolutely recommend this program without a doubt. I was a frustrated mother at a breaking with a struggling teenager that hit rock bottom. Without this program in our life, I don’t know if I would have ever seen his smiling face again. I can’t say enough about the staff, counseling and program itself. Don’t listen to the negativity with reviews, I didn’t. It was a tough decision but thank God every day I trusted my gut and the program. I have my son back and yes it’s a tough structured program but all in a good way, the way it needs to be. He needed a drastic measure and TAR exceeded my expectations. Worth every penny. Thank you!!!”

- Amanda J. Miller

“TAR saved my daughter’s life ~ She is now happy, very successful and I owe so much of that to them!”

- Wendy Werner

“My daughter was at Turn About Ranch. This program not only saved her life but also United us as a family. It was the most humbling experience of my life and leaving her was the hardest thing I ever had to do. Getting her back – as she was before she got into trouble – was the most rewarding and amazing thing. It’s the end result that makes the process worth while. The staff was so wonderful. They made this experience easier to go through. Michelle and Lorie keep me posted on my daughters initial days then the weekly posting of her progress gave me strength. The staff made such an impression on my daughter that she wants to continue a relationship with them. Her therapist called weekly and never held back on setting her father and I straight. This program is not only for our children but for the entire family. Don’t hesitate! This program will work if all efforts are made by both the parents and child. Totally worth it. My daughter is now home and in private school and putting her life back together day by day. It’s a blessing to know Turn About Ranch is still there if we need them. Very happy mom in San Diego.”

- Julissa Hernandez

“I highly recommend to having your child going to Turn About Ranch. My son grew so much from this program. He developed growth within his self and received many tools to manage his anger management and sobriety. He got a big dose of work ethic and to be respectful. He made amazing friendships with other boys and staff as well. Not only did my son receive but in the end he was able to give back to others as well. My son grew to love and appreciate ranch living. He loved going out on the round ups. This place was a blessing for my son and me to be able rebuild our relationship with one another. TAR helped him get back on track with academics as well. TAR was a place where my son had an opportunity to hit the reset button on life. I am so forever grateful to having my son back. Thank you and God bless you all for helping my son to be able to move forward on a path to succeed in life.”

- Mary Jo Williams

“After speaking with families (you may speak to families who had their child there) that have enrolled their child in the Turn-About Ranch program, 5 starts isn’t enough to review this real ranch. The student studies and earns a semester of school credit while waking/sleeping early- being responsible for the care of animals and learning plain old work ethic; they go from a bad place in their life to experiencing life in a whole new light achieving goals every step of the way. The goals gave D. the courage to get past tragedy and mold herself for a wonderful future. The staff were caring, transparent, and helped the entire family. Thank you for providing this service.”

- Suzanne Catlett

“Thank you Turn-About Ranch! The first week of my daughter being back was a little challenging as we were all re-establishing our new normal, but now things are going really well. The main changes I’ve seen are that her self esteem is so much higher now and her anger is almost non-existent. I can say that she and I have the best relationship we’ve ever had. She is being really good about coming to me and talking through things as they happen rather than holding it in and letting the anger build. I am doing the same, it’s helped a lot!”

- Diane Wharton

“Turn About Ranch saved our son and family. We had to make one of the hardest decisions when it came to our son. We could no longer live on the emotional roller coaster our son had us on. Our home had become a war zone and it needed to stop. After researching Wilderness Programs for our son, Turn About Ranch came out above the rest. It had all the components our son needed in order to become a healthy young man. It had an accredited school, extensive therapy, accountability, an amazing horsemanship program, an excellent work ethic and staff that truly love the kids and their jobs.

We did read the negative reviews and spoke extensively with the Director of Admissions, Shane. After much soul searching we decided we needed to do this for our son. It was the best decision we have ever made. Do not get me wrong… it is not an easy program. It makes these kids work hard on all levels but it also teaches them to love themselves. So, for every negative comment, there a so many more positives and the end result is so worth every penny… every tear… every uncertainty. We thank God everyday for guiding us to Turn About Ranch.

It gave us our sanity back and a young man who is not so angry at the world and learning to became an amazing young adult. I also would like to add that we, as parents could call the Ranch at anytime to ask questions or voice any concerns. His therapist spent much more time then the allotted amount to make sure we knew exactly what was happening in his daily life at the Ranch. Sharing both emotional growth as well as areas he needed to work on. She went above and beyond the call of duty. We did not feel our son/family was just another kid or number. That was huge in reassuring us that we made the right decision. We will forever be grateful for them guiding us out of the darkness of our life. The sun shines again thanks to the Ranch and its dedicated staff. THANK YOU!”

- Maureen DePasquale

“Was our last resort out of fear from the unknown. Wish it would of been our 1st . Wish we would of done this in early teens instead of waiting. But so thankful to have our daughter back with attitude to enjoy life and each other. Thanks to Turn-About Ranch who gave her a chance to get to the root of the issues that was holding her back. The staff here is amazing.. Each having their own role in making this happen. Thank You All!!!!!’

- Kim Williams

Why Professionals Refer Us


Testimonials from Graduates


“This place made me a successful human being.”

- Bo Farnsworth

“I think I was one of the very first kids to complete a stay at Turn-About Ranch. That was 28 years ago (yikes I’m getting old)! I was recently in southern Utah vacationing and couldn’t help but reflect on my experiences there as I drove by many familiar places from my past. Back then I was a lost 14 year old kid. I had some family issues, my parents were divorcing, I was a high school dropout, a runaway, a “tad” rebellious (ha!), and was unfortunately dabbling in things no 14 year old had business dabbling in.

Looking back now I can honestly that my time at Turn About Ranch probably saved my life. They taught me about accountability, responsibility, hardwork, and integrity. All lessons that have shaped my life as I’ve grown in to the adult woman I am today. However, I have to say that the most impactful thing Turn About did for me was show me that I had options. I was able to see that the dark path I was troding down wasn’t the only path available to me. That idea was a profound revelation at time, and strangely enough, when life gets complicated, it’s a revelation that still helps to guide me as [I] fumble my way through this crazy, glorious life.

I’d like to send a big heartfelt THANK YOU to Dave, Bart, Ken, Kas, Charles, Myron and all the others that helped one broken kid find her wings and fly. You made all the difference in the world. Much love to you all!!”

- Tracy Sheres Belbey

“DISCLAIMER: This is NOT a fake post nor have I been paid to post this. I am writing my story first and foremost because I had a wonderful experience and also because of the negative people who have nothing better to do than troll this page (with or without attending TAR).

Anyone who is struggling with their rebellious child and has lost all hope should seriously consider sending their child here. I attended TAR in ’07 I was 17 years old and senior in HS who would do anything to defy my parents. I was ALSO awoken in my bed early in the morning by two transporters and sent away, but this was all due to MY bad behavior. My parents are nothing short of amazing and because of my crappy teenage attitude and not wanting to listen OR respect my parents I was sent here. My parents did everything they could in their power (even call the police on me) to get me to listen and settle down. MY behavior had nothing to do with how my parents raised me. I was a very fortunate child who grew up in a middle-class family that fell into the WRONG crowd and had issues coping with the rules my parents set in THEIR house (and these rules were like any other…curfew, no going out on school nights etc.)

When I arrived at TAR I had no idea where I was or how long I was going to be there. I was scared and sad that I had pushed my parents so far that this ended up being their last ditch effort. Everything that I took for granted was taken away from me in the beginning and through this I had to learn how to appreciate the things that my parents worked so hard to provide for me.

This program works you HARD and the reason that they do this is to show you that you are capable of so much more. They also do this to break you down and show you that respect is EARNED not given. The hard work that we endured was nothing close to ABUSE, they were chores that we were expected to accomplish just like my parents expected of me. And if we gave lip, or refused to work we were punished by having to do MORE work or have time added to our stay at TAR which is completely reasonable.

I worked the program even with having a rebellious attitude and it happened to be the best experience of my life. I graduated after 103 days. I went back home and yes I still partied with my friends, but I had a heck of a lot more respect for my parents and my life in general. Thank you Peggy, Wayne, Tom, Deb, Deborah, Rex (R.I.P), Carol, Myron, Carl and many many more. I am forever indebted to you for your hard work. I hope one day to return and visit and maybe share my own story with the kids there.”

- Mallorey Pivovar

Graduate Says Thank You

Ready to Send Your Teen to the Ranch?

We’re here, and we’re ready to start helping your teen overcome their issues. We understand how difficult this decision is for you. If you would like to talk directly to a parent who has experienced sending their child to the ranch, fill out our CONTACT FORM or call us at (800) 842-1165. We’ll match you to another parent who you can talk to, so you can make the best decision for your teen.

Testimonials

My son was struggling and TAR helped him and gave him life skills. He is home now and doing amazing! Not to say there are always bumps in the road, but this facility is one that works.

- Sandra Baker, August 2021

I highly recommend TAR. Their people and approach really do work. Trust the people and the process. My son had been to two quality programs consecutively before TAR. Before starting these programs, he was depressed, suicidal at times, and had oppositional defiant disorder. After 8 months of these programs, there was some progress but he was nowhere near ready to come home. At the other programs, he was resistant to buy in, resistant to change though 'wilderness' had more beneficial aspects than 'residential.' At TAR, doing real work, solving real problems daily was the game-changer. He wasn’t repeating a chemistry lab that had been done thousands of times with the expectation he must get the same answer as everyone always has. It was more, “we have to fix this fence” – experience helps, but so do creativity and hard work. And with a wide variety of teaching/coaching styles of staff, he came to appreciate the variability of people working for common goals in different ways. They addressed issues, such as non-productive or harmful interactions with peers or staff as they came up. The issues were real. And, they were addressed real time, not “wait until therapy at 3:30 on Thursday.” He grew and learned from these direct interactions and the lessons within them. The advice was consistent and persistent. The staff and therapists would prod my son to explore and explain his point of view and actions, while providing simple, basic guidance on better verbal, physical or thinking approaches. TAR provided time and reason for reflection and, over time, it had positive, beneficial impacts on my son. My son has learned how to express his feelings more frequently. He listens more carefully and expects to be listened to. He has come to understand the benefits and value of hard work. He is respectful. He understands himself better and has become engaged in setting goals for himself. My son had been on a negative trajectory for 2-3 years before beginning wilderness. Wilderness and residential therapy helped to stop the negative trajectory. TAR turned it into a positive trajectory. We have a long way to go. But we have more positives and more potential to move forward on a positive trajectory than we have had in many years. I believe TAR is responsible for the change in trajectory and I am very thankful and grateful that we were finally able to get him to this program. I did not think it was possible for him to come back home in 100 days. I was researching boarding schools as the likely best next future step. Instead, he is back home and we are all moving forward, not stuck in a rut or on a negative trajectory. He has a positive self-image, we are talking through issues and challenges, he is taking more initiative and responsibility than we have seen in years. He will re-start at our local high school in a few weeks. I firmly believe none of his would have happened without TAR.

- Robi Robichaud, August 2021

We sent our son to Turn-About and I can't say enough good things about this program. The first time I spoke with them (it took us over a year to pull the trigger) they actually gave me some things that they thought I could do at home to possibly work through our issues and not have to use the program! I was immediately impressed that they were concerned with my son and not just selling an enrollment. My son learned so much there and loved all of the staff members. They put their hearts and souls in to helping the kids that are there. My son got caught up on all the school work he was failing at, matured unbelievably, learned valuable skills like horsemanship, welding, etc. He came home a whole different person. They also did a great job at coaching me and my ex wife on changes that we needed to make in ourselves / our parenting styles. And they gave us a ton of resources to make sure we keep the momentum and have a smooth transition back to home life. Again, I just can't say enough about this program. It was life changing for everyone of my family members that were involved (me, my ex wife, my son, and my daughters).

- Anthony Detrick, July 2021

This place has made all the difference, and saved our 16 year old daughter’s life. Previous counseling, hospitalization, and medications did not work, and we were about to give up on her. She’s come out of this program strong, honest, and positive with herself, and future. The people employed at the ranch are caring, genuine, and simply put, one of a kind. Thank you, for giving us our daughter back.

- P. Bell, July 2021

My 14 year old daughter graduated from Turn About Ranch about 2 months ago and is the best she has ever been. After 3 previous hospitalizations and years of working with different (highly qualified & experienced) therapists, the light bulb finally went off after a 120 day program at the ranch. She was transferred here after being sent to another program where she was discharged due to repeated problems and restraints. I probably never would’ve chosen this program knowing that she would be forced to live in a nearly wilderness type environment, and also that we would only be able to communicate by letters for the duration of her program… additionally, I wanted a program that spoke therapy, therapy, therapy and wouldn’t have thought a working cattle ranch would be the place for that, but I am beyond grateful that her journey led her to the people who are so gracious, patient, and brutally honest. (Also, insurance considered this a higher level of therapeutic care than the other program and therefore paid more). They were non-confrontational and gained her interest and trust by providing tools she needed. This is where the most effective therapy took place for her… where she learned to turn suggested tools/ideas/concepts into action and have her eyes opened to new better ways of shaping her perspective, relationships, communication, and living life by higher morals and values. We’ve had a few ups and downs since she’s been home, (mostly with moods and challenging rules, nothing major) but with the pre-discharge plans set in family therapy, continued therapy with a local counselor here at home and supportive community she is getting even stronger/independent and steering her ship on the trajectory she was able to establish in her time at TAR. I highly recommend them for a multitude of reasons… so from a mom who has seen other programs who try hard but miss the mark… this one does it right! And if all this wasn’t enough, my daughter loves them, misses them and wants to visit on her one year anniversary… but she doesn’t want to return as a resident either… it’s really brilliant!

- AJ Trainer, July 2021

Turn-About Ranch

280 N 300 E.
Escalante, UT 84726
(800) 842-1165